Excellent Light Painting

Stop motion form and colour, using light painting techniques. 

"I've been interested in taking my Light Study photo series and evolving them into motion pieces. I shot a lot of footage for a VJ gig for FITC San Francisco. So I edited together those stop motion sequences, mashed up some audio from the Tron Legacy trailers, and out came Light Drive. The video is stop motion, so every frame is an individually shot photograph. Each photograph is a long exposure photo, with exposures reaching up to 20 seconds in some cases. To control the lights, I used an Arduino controlled via bluetooth to drive a stepper motor. The stepper motor controls the movements of the lights remotely from Processing. The light sources include cold cathode case lights, EL wire, lasers and more." Lighting: Kim Pimmel Sound: Tron Legacy trailers

Light Studies - http://www.flickr.com/photos/djspyhunter/sets/72157615077454920/