Dollar ReDe$ign Project

 

Dollar ReDe$ign Project blog - http://richardsmith.posterous.com/

A really interesting open project to rebrand the US Dollar, organised by Richard Smith ( http://www.thinkcreatebelieve.com/about-approach.htm ) -"The Dollar ReDe$ign Project hopes to bring about change for everyone. We want to rebrand the US Dollar, rebuild financial confidence and revive our failing economy." 

I didn't realise how much of a preconceived idea about the design of money I had in my head until I saw this project. So many questions dart through my mind on looking at the various designs, some so sub-conscious that I almost disregard most designs on first glance. Currency design is more than just do I like how it looks, it has to answer questions like...
> Is it secure?
> Do I trust it?
> Does it give the right gravitas to that country?
> What does that country want to tell me through it's currency design?
> How progressive does the country appear through the design of it's currency?
> Can I read the note quickly?
> Does the valuation of notes get confused?
> Is it effectively colour coded?   
> Does the imagery resonate with me or teach me anything of importance about that country?
> Is the design of money important anymore with the advent of global currencies such as PayPal?

A lot of these designs would never work for real, but it's fun to see how people approach this most difficult of design projects.

Links:
Dollar ReDe$ign Project Flickr -
One Hundred Dollars - great article about designing bank notes by http://ministryoftype.co.uk/words/article/one_hundred_dollars/