Dynamic Constructivist Film Posters by the Stenberg Brothers

"The Stenbergs practiced in a range of media, initially active as Constructivist sculptors, subsequently as theater designers, architects, and draftspeople. Their design work covered the gamut from clothing, including women's shoes, to rail carriages. The arenas in which they excelled were theater, costume and graphic designs, particularly the graphic design of film posters, encouraged by the surging interest in movies in Russia and the government's sanctioning of graphic design and the cinema."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stenberg_brothers
http://www.moma.org/search/collection?query=stenberg

10 Favourite Posts in 2010

Looking back on 2010, here's 10 of my favourite posts over the year - Have a Happy New Year Everyone! xx

1. Graphic Design of Fred Troller 1930-2002 http://kathykavan.com/fred-troller-graphic-design-swiss-typography

2. Mexico 1968 Olympic Identity by Lance Wyman http://kathykavan.com/mexico-1968-olympic-identity-by-lance-wyman

3. Graphic Heroes: Otl Aicher, Designer 1972 Munich Olympics Identity http://kathykavan.com/graphic-resource-otl-aicher-designer-1972-mun

4. Soviet Arcade Games & Posters http://kathykavan.com/soviet-arcade-games-posters

5. Tadanori Yokoo Psychedelic Posters http://kathykavan.com/tadanori-yokoo-psychedelic-posters-japan-grap

6. A lil' Waldo Pancake for you..http://kathykavan.com/a-lil-waldo-pancake-for-you

7. Modernist Textiles | 1950's & Henry Moore http://kathykavan.com/modernist-textiles-1950s-henry-moore

8. The many ways Star Wars is used in adverts... http://kathykavan.com/the-many-ways-star-wars-is-used-in-adverts

9. A World of Miffy & Dick Bruna http://kathykavan.com/a-world-of-miffy-and-dick-bruna-miffy-dickbru

10. Graphical Godzilla Godzilla Godzilla!!! http://kathykavan.com/graphical-godzilla-godzilla-godzilla

Soviet Arcade Games & Posters

Wow, these posters definitely don't look European, Japanese or American - they have an aesthetic that I can't quite describe - Russia influenced by Atari with a pinch of grubby 'Look around You' & middle of the night 1980's Open University. Seriously cool me thinks. Found from this great article http://adangerousbusiness.com/2010/01/05/the-museum-of-soviet-video-games/

Museum of Soviet Arcade Machines site - http://www.15kop.ru/en/

Museum of Soviet Arcade Machines Flickr Shots http://www.flickr.com/photos/a_dangerous_business/sets/72157622871645087/with...

Wired article http://www.wired.com/gaming/hardware/news/2007/06/soviet_games

From the late '70s to the early '90s, Soviet military factories produced some 70 different video game models. Based largely (and crudely) on early Japanese designs, the games were distributed -- in the words of one military manual -- for the purposes of "entertainment and active leisure, as well as the development of visual-estimation abilities." Production of the games ceased with the collapse of communism, and as Nintendo consoles and PCs flooded the former Soviet states, the old arcade games were either destroyed or disappeared into warehouses and basements. It was mostly out of nostalgia that four friends at Moscow State Technical University began scouring the country to rescue these old games. So far they have located 32 of them and are doing their best to bring them back to life.